Hermanus Weekend Away

img_0782img_0784img_0796img_0800img_0809img_0812img_0821img_0826img_0827img_0831img_0836img_0838img_0840img_0857img_0871img_0894img_0873img_0874img_0885img_0891

An escape to Hermanus, for the weekend, was just what I needed. A break from my computer and all the work that I need to do. My boyfriend and I decided to do a quick trip before I headed back to university. Ain’t he a sweetheart? He even got me a gift (the Almond Milk and Honey Body Butter from the Body Shop, pictured above).

I have visited Hermanus a few times in my lifetime, none of which I remember very well. It felt like I was going to a new place that I had never explored. Our trip did not entirely take place in Hermanus. We stayed over night in Gordon’s Bay, on Friday, so we didn’t have to wake up at the crack of dawn to get to Hermanus before 9:30am.

We started out our Saturday morning with a trusty visit to the Hermanus Country Market and ate my weights worth of food. A delicious scramble eggs and smoked salmon on ciabatta was only R45! I do not think you can get that anywhere in Cape Town. We may have also had a sneaky pancake with our coffee.

Afterwards we headed off to highly recommended wine farm called La Vierge. With the addition to the great wine, the view took my breath away. The staff were friendly and really knew their wine. Next time I want to go wine tasting at all the wine farms the the valley.

A walk along the seaside cliffs  was a great way to pass time before dinner. Not much walking took place but sitting on a bench and watching the waves was a great alternative. The Old Harbour view point was a super close walk to the restaurants in the Village Center. There are many restaurants and bars along the seaside cliffs that offer a great view to enjoy a cocktail or a beer.

We ended off our day at Rossi’s Italian Restaurant. Good Italian food for a good price. Who doesn’t love a good pizza or pasta? The restaurant is authentic and it felt like one of the restaurants that I went to in Rome.

For accommodation we stayed at a gorgeous Airbnb, located about 2km outside the village center. The room we stayed in looked like an interior design had decorated it. The furniture was solid and stunning. I have stayed in hotels and BnBs for triple the price but  they came nothing near to the quality and beauty of this place. I highly recommend this place and would definitely return.

On the Sunday, we took a lazy last stroll through the Village Center to look at the typical tourist craft market before leaving to Kleinmond. Kleinmond is known for it’s one road that is about 200m long with a few art gallery’s. It was a great pitstop to fill up the car and ourselves! The art and pottery was a bonus too. If only I could afford some of the pottery! I dream of owning beautiful ceramic tea sets.

Overall it was a well rounded getaway and would definitely do it again. My next post is on the outfits that I wore this weekend. Hope you had a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

