Cooking with Chelsea: Sun-dried Tomato Quiche

image1-3

I love quiche, it is one of my favourite meals. I came across this recipe on Pinterest from the blog The Kittchen. I adapted it a bit so I decided to share my version of this delicious quiche. Recently I have been cooking more and taking more of an interest in food. I have been testing out recipes I find to see what I like. The ones I like I print out and add to my cooking section of my admin file. This recipe is front page worthy!

Lets get into the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 1 roll of Puff Pastry
  • 1 medium Tomatoes
  • 8 Ina Paarman Sundried Tomatoes
  • 1 tablespoon Olive Oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon Basil seasoning
  • 1 1/2 cups Baby Spinach
  • 1 cup chopped Mozzarella
  • 5 Large Eggs
  • 1/2 cup Heavy Cream
  • 1/2 cup Milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon Salt
  • a dash of Black Pepper

Instructions:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 200°C.
  2. Slice the tomatoes into 1cm round slices. Heat the pan to a medium- low heat. Drizzle the olive oil in a pan. Place the tomatoes in the pan. Sprinkle the basil, and some salt and pepper over the tomatoes. Let the tomatoes fry for 2 minutes on one side and turn over for the other side (until fairly soft).
  3. Drizzle more olive oil to barely cover the pan, and maintain the heat from tomatoes. Then add the spinach, and cook until wilted. Remember to stir frequently.
  4. Lower the heat of the oven to 190°C. Place the puff pastry into your baking dish and then into the oven to precook for 5 minutes.
  5. Add the spinach, mozzarella, roasted tomatoes and sun-dried tomatoes in the pie crust. You can also add some egg wash on the top of the crust to give it a golden colour.
  6. Mix the eggs, cream, milk, salt, and pepper. Either beat them by hand for 2 minutes, or use a mixer for 1 minute. The eggs must be light and fluffy.
  7. Pour the egg mixture over the spinach, tomatoes and cheese and into the pie crust. Fill the crust as much as possible, without letting the mixture spill out.
  8. Bake for 35-45 minutes, until the center of the quiche has firmed up.

Happy eating! If you try this out comment down below what your experience was! 

Leave a Reply

